Almond milk and…

Weight this morning:  132.2
Low weight:  129.8
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

I never have milk in my fridge!  I’m not a cereal-for-breakfast type of person and I have been off my smoothie kick for a while, so other than that, I don’t really have need for it.  Last week, however, when baking my special pumpkin treats for the tailgate, the recipe (er, box mix) called for milk, so I had to go to the store and get some!  A little while back when I was flirting with the idea of going vegan, I gave up cow’s milk and switched to almond milk.  While cheese has entered back into my life with a vengeance since this flirtation with veganism, almond milk is actually something that stuck.  So, what am I to do with all this “leftover” almond milk from my baking???

After much research and contemplation, I selected a CEREAL to pair with my almond milk.  I read online that Quaker Puffed Wheat, while an excellent cereal choice, is difficult to find at most grocery stores.  I found a box right in my local Publix, woo hoo!  Anyway, at a mere 50 calories per 1.25 cup serving (a cereal phenom), I was doubtful I would enjoy puffed wheat.  So, I paired it with a sliced banana and my 1 cup of almond milk, and the final review?  It’s good…not great, but good!  It serves its purpose as a VERY low-cal cereal impersonator, but it doesn’t exactly offer the same punch as some of the other healthier cereal options.  Paired with some fruit, it’s fairly good.  Alone, it would probably be bad.

Ok, enough about cereal, tonight I made a couple little English muffin pizzas using another recipe from GreenLiteBites:

And then not much later in the evening, I re-heated a slice of this:

Did I eat a healthful version of pizza and a not-so-good-for-you-at-all version of pizza, both in the same night?  Why yes, yes I did.  Haha, and I really enjoyed/loved BOTH!  Hey, I could spare the calories, why not?

OK, here’s all that i 8 today:

  • chickpea and tomato salad (recipe here)
  • broccoli, carrots, and hummus
  • 28 lightly salted almonds
  • Quaker puffed wheat cereal, almond milk, sliced banana
  • English muffin pizzas (recipe here)
  • slice of leftover Marco’s Pizza
  • spoonful of almond butter

And here’s how the calories worked out (below).  Oh, I went to a Body Pump class and did some jogging at the gym this morning (470 cals burned) and then went to a Spinning class this evening (400 cals burned).  Overall, it was a good fitness and food day!

Leave a Reply

