hoooooly guacamole!

Weight this morning:  130.8
Low weight:  129.8
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Happy Halloween, to anyone out there who actually reads this!  :)  Most of blogland is posting about exciting Halloween treats and how to avoid over-indulging on this holiday.  I have never been a huge Halloween person and did not go out of my way to make any plans, so today is just a normal day for me!  I also do not have children nor live in a neighborhood where trick-or-treaters will be stopping by (actually, ok…I live in an apartment complex where we don’t have that, hehe).

Alright, on to my food news.  Publix is known for their amazing BOGO (buy one, get one free) deals, which change weekly.  Yesterday, I found one that intrigued me, so I went for it:

Normally, I’m only a fresh guac type of gal, but someone brought some packaged guacamole to the tailgate last Saturday, I think from…Walmart?  And of course I was skeptical, but OMG it was delish!  Now, this probably sounds like a weird combo, but I didn’t want to combine the guac with anything too “carby”, so I mixed one of the spicy packets with some zucchini slices (I had some leftover…more on that later), 5 baby carrots, and 2TBSP Publix salsa.  My review of the guac:  AWESOME!  A bit too spicy for me, but still really good and an excellent alternative to freshly made guac!

Later in the day, I tried ANOTHER recipe from GreenLiteBites called Whole Grain Zucchini-Pineapple Bread.  (I had zucchini leftover, which is why I threw it in with the guac above).  ;-)  

Ok, so my review of the bread/muffins:  They are definitely not as sugary as a muffin you’ll buy from the store, or from a bakery, or from a box muffin mix, but they definitely satisfy the muffin craving, if you tend to have those often (like me!).  So, I would give them a thumbs up!  They are a healthier version of a sugary breakfast muffin (…or, as I like to call them, icing-less cupcakes), which I like, and the pineapple/zucchini blended with all the spices came together nicely.  Yay for baking, for REALZ this time! :)

Other stuff i 8 today:

  • cup of Keurig chai tea latte (no spills today!)
  • 3 bean chili I made last night (recipe here; it was actually quite tasty, so this one will definitely be going in the large-batch, bean-based meal rotation)
  • broccoli, carrots, and 2TBSP hummus
  • Quaker Puffed Wheat cereal, almond milk, a medium-sized banana
  • zucchini, guac, and salsa
  • English muffin pizzas (recipe here)
  • two pineapple zucchini bread muffins

I did a Spinning class this morning (440 cals burned) and a Body Attack class this evening (400 cals burned).  My overall calorie count looked like this:

Hope you enjoyed the holiday!

Leave a Reply

