A starch-tacular week

Weight this morning:  130.8
Low weight:  129.8
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

This week has been quite a carb-heavy one.  With the leftover pizza, Quaker puffed wheat cereal, pumpkin AND zucchini-pineapple muffins, and the English muffin mini pizzas, I’ve been feeling the weight of all that “bready” starch!  I am NOT saying I’m anti-carbs.  I get plenty of carbohydrates from non-grain sources, such as bananas and apples and beans and veggies, and I could never and would never want to give up my carbs…but too many “bready” foods (I’m talking about cereal, pasta, rice, etc.), and I start to feel a little bloated and heavy.

So, today I switched it up!  I front-loaded my day with the bread carbs instead of waiting until the evening.  (What, did you think I was going to say NO starchy carbs today?  haha, nope!)  Here’s the food i 8 today:

  • English muffin pizzas (recipe here)
  • 1 pineapple-zucchini muffin (recipe here)
  • spoonful of almond butter, pre-afternoon workout snack
  • three bean chili (recipe here)
  • broccoli, carrots, + 2TBSP Sabra hummus
  • Green Giant green beans and almonds (entire package)
  • apple + 2TBSP almond butter
  • WORKOUT:  Body Pump (350 cals burned) and Body Step (435 cals burned)

Sadly, I have no, new, exciting food pictures for today.  But I DID invest in a new kitchen gadget.  I’m all about the apple slices and almond butter, so I thought it was high time I invest in an apple wedger.  So I moseyed over to Target and found this gem:

There were about 5 to choose from, ranging from $3.99 to $20.99, so of course, I went for the cheapy $3.99 guy.  And how did that choice work out for me?  This photo makes it looks so easy, right?:

I’m not gonna lie…it was tough to slice that apple!  Haha, I’m not sure if it was operator error or the quality of the $3.99 apple wedger, but in the end, it got the job done.  I enjoyed these slices with a couple tablespoons of almond butter–always a favorite snack of mine!

Here’s where I ended up in calories today:

 

Leave a Reply

