Soup for the Soul

Weight this morning: 130.2
Goal weight: 125
Height: 5’6″

It’s getting a little colder around here–time for something warm to eat!  I was slightly embarrassed by my use of a standard, fairly processed soup brand product last week since I consider myself to be fairly health-conscious, so I decided to put my best foot forward and shop around for a healthier, albeit canned, soup product.  I moseyed over to the Greenwise section at Publix and found quite the collection of “healthy” soup brands.  In the end, I opted for the Amy’s brand, mainly because it has the fewest ingredients and the most legible ingredients, compared to any other brand (i really like that).  I have tried some other products from the Amy’s franchise and have been pretty satisfied.  Here’s a little about the company from their website:

“At Amy’s Kitchen, we make food in much the same way as you do at home. We start out with the freshest, organic vegetables we can find.  We purchase high quality pastas, grains, beans and hormone free dairy from cows that are pasture raised.  We make everything by hand.”

So, this notion of fresh ingredients is something I could get on board with.  Anyway, back to the soup.  I COULD NOT decide on just one flavor to try, so I opted for the…ummm…FOUR below!

But OK, let’s get on with the real order of business–what i 8 today:

  1. 1/2 can (roughly 1C) Amy’s low-fat split pea soup
  2. 1/3 cucumber + dip chip carrots + 2 TBSP hummus
  3. medium red delicious apple + 2 TBSP almond butter
  4. Green Giant healthy vision mix (entire package)
  5. black bean, salsa, and cheddar cheese burrito with whole wheat tortilla
  6. oatmeal, 2TBSP almond butter, cinnamon

The split pea soup was actually quite tasty and it had some substance to it.  It was not too watery, but had more of an applesauce consistency, which I really enjoyed.  Plus, it’s vegan–always a plus in my opinion!  (more on my vegetarian decision in a later post)

Exercise for today included a Body Attack class in the morning (470 cals burned) and a Zumba class in the evening (305 cals burned).  Alright, the calorie count is below.  Notice, no desserts, woo hoo!

One response

Leave a Reply

