Hibachi Heaven

Weight this morning:  130.0
Low weight:  129.8
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

In general, I do not cook.  If someone were to ask me, “Do you cook?”  my answer would likely be, “Not really.”  From time to time, however, I can mix ingredients and do simple things.  Sometimes I’ll venture out and try a difficult recipe, but for the most part…I do not cook.  That being said, today I made (i.e., mixed together some ingredients in a bowl) a bean salad inspired by a favorite blog of mine called GreenLiteBites.  The recipe is a chickpea and tomato salad with fresh basil.  I added some black beans I had left over and the second avocado I purchased a couple days ago.  I tacked on the extra calories to the original count from the blog posting and then split the recipe into 3 portions, which came to about 287 calories per serving.  Overall, the salad is yum!  It is a unique mixture of flavors, so I’m not sure it’s for everyone, but I absolutely loved it!
Ok, here’s what i 8 the rest of today:

  • one serving of the above bean salad
  • 1/3 cucumber, carrot dip chips + hummus
  • a spoonful of almond butter before my afternoon workout
  • veggie hibachi!!!
  • slice of Publix cake

My workouts today consisted of a Body Pump class in the morning (375 cals burned) and a Body Step class in the afternoon (475 cals burned), since I knew I was having a heavier dinner.  This evening I went to a dinner with friends at a Japanese steakhouse and we did the whole hibachi grill experience, which I LOVE to do!  It’s always so much fun.  And the food is always amazing and plentiful!  When the cooking was done and my plate was full of 1/2 vegetables, 1/2 fried rice and lo mein, I immediately asked for a to-go box and boxed up half of it.  Out of sight, out of mind!  I didn’t want to be tempted to keep going and eat the entire plate, which I know I could easily do because it’s so delicious.  Did I get some strange looks from my neighbors for doing this?  Yes.  Do I actually care?  No.  It’s something that helps me stay in control, so I’ll often ask for a box at the beginning of my meal.  So, I left dinner feeling satisfied, but not overly stuffed…which is why I ended up at the Publix bakery with two of my girlfriends after we ate, haha!  I settled on a slice of cake and ate roughly 2/3 of it and saved the rest for tomorrow.  Overall, it was a great night!!!  Calorie snapshot:

Oh, and what’s that you say?  You want proof of “said” leftovers from dinner/dessert tonight?  Ok, here ya go:

Can’t wait to finish it all!!

Leave a Reply

