Measurements Matter

Weight this morning:  129.8
Low weight:  129.0
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

I often measure what I eat.  It makes a world of difference to bust out a measuring cup and see exactly what 1 cup of cereal or 1 TBSP of almond butter looks like (both of which I could eat countless amounts).  I started today with a Body Attack class (measuring my 420 cals burned) and then had some cereal, which I also measured out……along with some almond milk, which of course I had to MEASURE!

In the evening, I went back to the gym for my usual Tuesday night Zumba, but the instructor had to cancel and they had someone teaching Body Attack instead!  Ah well, I did Body Attack for the second time today (425 cals burned).  At least it was a different release from the one I did this morning.  I had a couple of “leftover Texas caviar + wholly guacamole” sandwiches for dinner and, again, measured everything!

When it comes to dessert, portion control and exact measurements are also my friend, which is why I picked up these guys a while back:

I went with the cookies and cream variety tonight, and I have to say it really hit the spot!  I had to get over the “this should taste like Ben and Jerry’s ice cream” thoughts I had when I initially started eating it, though.  Actually, after the first bite, I thought it wasn’t great and I could probably be OK with just half the carton.  But, it really grew on me, so by the end I was left with:

Measuring things out and buying items that are already nicely packaged and portion-controlled make counting calories (or WW points) and losing weight much easier.  The only downfall to this method is that it leaves me constantly wanting to go to restaurants and buy foods where the calories or “measurements” are clearly available.  In reality, the mom ‘n pop type of places and the baked goods your friends make are often more desirable than chain restaurants and pre-packaged desserts.  It’s a trade-off, but it seems that the more days I measure, the more I feel ok about indulging in those foods where the calorie count may not be clear from time to time.

Ok, here’s a summary of all the food i 8 today along with the calorie count.  Happy measuring to you!

  • the LAST of the three-bean chili (recipe here)
  • Quaker puffed wheat cereal, almond milk, + medium banana
  • carrot dip chips + 2TBSP hummus
  • a spoonful of freshly ground peanut better (pre-workout)
  • 2 Texas caviar (recipe here), wholly guacamole, and whole wheat bread sandwiches
  • a few bites of my homemade applesauce (recipe here)
  • Skinny cow low-fat ice cream – cookies ‘n cream
Leave a Reply

