Cleanin’ out the pantry

Weight this morning:  128.6
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

I’m down again to a NEW low!  🙂  Good things come to those who eat mindfully.  ahem, ok, on to other happenings…

This week I’m making a conscious effort to make food choices that help clean out the pantry!  Every now and then I find myself accumulating too much food in my cupboards, refrigerator, and freezer and then continuing to purchase more items that I don’t really need.  As much as it dismays me to not visit Publix this week, I realize I need to take a break from visiting that lovely place where shopping is a pleasure and try to eat up the food that I already have on hand.  I’m also leaving for somewhat of a holiday vacation on Friday, so clearing out the bulk of this food before I leave would be ideal.

I actually slept terribly last night, so in an attempt to gain more sleep, I turned off my 5:30 alarm for 6am Body Pump.  Unfortunately, I didn’t fall back asleep.  Darn it!  I hate when that happens!  So I finally rolled out of bed around 7:30 and went to my little apartment gym for some treadmill and elliptical (325 cals burned).  It was a boring workout, but it got the job done.

As expected, most of the food i 8 today is pretty standard (stuff you’ve seen on here before), with one minor exception…THIS:

Yes, that would be a slice of good ol’ Publix cake!  Someone in another department at work retired today, and they had some leftover, so I figured, “Why not?”  If a girl can’t go into Publix, then Publix will find its way to the girl!  🙂  It was the perfect afternoon snack.

Ok, below are the lists for today.  On to watching American Horror Story–scaaAAaaarrRRRYyyyy!

  • dip chip carrots + 2TBSP hummus
  • Quaker Puffed Wheat cereal, almond milk, medium banana
  • slice of Publix cake –> YUM!
  • Texas caviar (recipe here) and wholly guacamole on whole wheat bread
  • oatmeal, freshly ground peanut butter, half a banana (I have some frozen ones stashed away) –> this was an AWESOME mix, so good!
  • the last few bites I had left of my homemade applesauce (recipe here)
Leave a Reply

