roasted veggies + new nut butters

Weight this morning:  131.0
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  1 mile treadmill jog + Body Pump in the morning (400 cals burned) and Body Step in the afternoon (410 cals burned)

I’m back home after an extended time away!  And I’m back on track.  I was still quite full this morning from all my binge eating yesterday, so I waited until I actually felt HUNGER to eat anything today.  That came at about 2:30pm, so I started the day with some carrots and hummus.  Then, I ate a handful of almonds before my 2nd workout of the day.

For my evening meal, I decided I wanted to try roasting vegetables for the first time ever!  I picked up one zucchini, one green bell pepper, and a carton of mushrooms for my experiment.  I thought that might all be too much for one person (which was WRONG), so I used half of each veggie, added 1TBSP EVOO, some salt, pepper, and garlic powder, and mixed it all in a bowl.

20121217_veggies

I set the oven to 475 and cooked it all on a cookie sheet for 10 minutes, then I mixed it all/flipped the veggies again, and cooked it for another 10 minutes.  The zucchini got a little too mushy, but otherwise it was delish!  Next time I’ll add more veggies, and maybe look for an actual recipe of how to roast veggies.  I NEVER “wing it” when cooking, but I decided to do so tonight, and it ended up working out just fine!  I coupled the veggies with some of my favorite green juice.

20121217_dinner

Next, I always buy freshly ground almond butter.  But I’ve seen that some bloggers invest in jars of different almond or other nut butters, so I wanted to try out some other varieties.

20121217_butter

The Justin’s is HEAVEN in a jar, literally.  The crunchy sunflower seed butter had an “interesting” taste that I wasn’t expecting at first, but it’s also a winner that I will keep in the mix.  So, for a snack after dinner I had a banana, Justin’s, and coconut.  It was a great way to end my day of getting back on track food-wise!  Here’s all the food i 8 today (with cals below).  Yes, I was low on cals today, but when I combine it with the 3000 calories I consumed yesterday, I don’t think my body will feel too deprived, haha!

  • Publix dip chip carrots + Sabra red roasted pepper hummus
  • 14 lightly salted almonds
  • tastes (about a TBSP each) of the sunflower seed and almond butter (pictured above)
  • roasted veggies
  • Naked Green Machine juice
  • medium banana, 2TBSP Justin’s almond butter, 1TBSP coconut

20121217

Leave a Reply

