Two months of focus

Weight this morning:  132.2
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout: 10 min warm-up jog + spinning class (490 cals burned)

My gym is having a 2-month fitness challenge!!!  I signed up today.  The challenge is simple–whoever attends the most group fitness classes over the challenge period wins a prize.  There will be prizes for 1st, 2nd, and 3rd place, and the prizes are unknown.  Seeing that I’m a group fitness QUEEN, I’m definitely down for this type of challenge.  So, the official period when they’ll be tallying our group fitness class attendance is January 14th – March 10th.  Here’s my plan for the classes to take on a daily basis:

  • Monday:  AM – Body Pump / PM – Body Step
  • Tuesday:  AM – Body Attack / PM – Zumba
  • Wednesday:  AM – Spinning / PM – Body Attack
  • Thursday: AM – Body Pump / PM – Body Step
  • Friday:  AM – Body Step
  • Sat/Sun:  If I’m near my gym, one Body Attack and one Body Pump class; if not, walk/jog outside

Now, I definitely won’t make it to the gym twice a day every day.  But, as I do now, if I’m having a less stressful day and feel I have the time to fit in two workouts, I do so.  So, I’ll just continue with that mindset over the fitness challenge period and make sure I don’t overdo it with the two-a-days!

Since I’m participating in this challenge and I know my fitness will be in check, I want to make sure I’m mindful on the food/diet side as well.  So, I’ve come up with a list of “rules” I’d like to stick to throughout this challenge period.  Actually, I’m starting these rules TODAY because there’s no time like the present…why wait until Monday?!

  1. no fried foods
  2. no soda
  3. no excessive drinking (2 possible exceptions–my and my husband’s bdays, whoop!)
  4. no white carbs (pasta, bread, rice, cereal, fried breading, etc.)
  5. no buffets
  6. minimal pizza (weakness #1)
  7. minimal desserts (weakness #2)
  8. eat something within 2 hours of waking to kickstart my metabolism
  9. water, water water!  at restaurants, at home, at the gym…drink it up
  10. focus on PLANNING…stash the fridge with fruit and veggies for when I’m feeling snacky, think about my eating plan prior to a house party or dinner/lunch at a restaurant, keep go-to snacks in my purse/car/office
  11. This is a big one:  If I have a day (meal) where I go crazy on crap foods, that’s OK, no one is perfect.  Take a deep breath and make the next meal more healthful.  In other words, no throwing in the towel and binge junk food eating for an entire day/weekend/week…get right back on track!

I think this is all doable and these are changes I would like to honestly make FOREVER, not just the next two months, which is important when “dieting”.  I first titled this post “Two months to 125”, but I realized that slow and steady wins the race.  As long as I’m making smart choices and truly focusing on my goal of being healthy, whether I make it to 125 lbs in March or October really makes no difference.  I want to do this healthily, making LIFESTYLE changes, not just simple diet fixes to see a number on the scale.  After the last few months of tracking food and staying dedicated to exercise, I definitely feel a difference in my body.  Although the scale isn’t reflecting it right now, I have made some major improvements since I started this blog.

Ok, quick food i 8 today summary:

20130109_oat

 

20130109_lara

 

20130109_humm

 

20130109_bagel

  • 1/3 C quick oats, 1/2 banana, 1.5 TBSP crunchy sunflower butter
  • Lara bar
  • carrots, broccoli, + 2 TBSP hummus
  • smoothie –> 1 C kale, 2 full carrots, 1 full apple, 3 dates (too ugly to picture!)
  • toasted bagel thin + Laughing Cow cheese wedge
  • 2 TBSP Justin’s maple almond butter (yes, by itself, it’s THAT good)

20130109

2 responses

Leave a Reply

