Large batch meal

Weight this morning:  131.4
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  Body Pump + elliptical/treadmill (525 cals burned)

I woke up a little hungry today!  My new love (Justin) came to the rescue!  I had a scoop of Justin’s maple almond butter before heading to the gym.

Welp, my “first meal”, or what some may call breakfast, hasn’t changed much over the past few days–oatmeal, sunbutter, 1/2 a banana.  I recently read in a health magazine that a good tip for kicking off a weight loss program is to keep breakfast simple, healthy and the same each day (for some time at least), so you don’t even have to think about it.  That way, you just do it and always start the day off right.  I think it’s a pretty good idea!

20130110_oat

Later in the day I munched on some raw veggies and hummus and a package of Green Giant frozen veggies.

20130110_spinach

Another thing I like to do to keep myself on track is to make a large batch of a meal that can feed me for several days.  Tonight I went with one of my allrecipes.com faves, the garbanzo stir-fry.  You can find the full recipe here, but it’s basically garbanzo beans (chickpeas), cherry tomatoes, mushrooms, zucchini, and some spices.   Healthy, light, and pretty tasty!

20130110_garbanzoI also added some brown rice that I had leftover from another cooking adventure today (side note: I made this black bean and brown rice casserole today to deliver to my friends that just had a baby…equally delicious, love me some allrecipes.com!).  Anyway, the bean stir-fry gave me four batches of goodness to be eaten over the next few days.

Here’s all the food i 8 today (cals below):

  • spoonful of Justin’s maple almond butter
  • oatmeal, 1/2 banana, sunbutter
  • carrots, broccoli, + 2TBSP hummus
  • Green Giant creamed spinach (entire package)
  • smoothie –> 3 dates, 1/2 banana, 1 TBSP Justin’s, ice cubes…not a big smoothie, but omg so good, like dessert!
  • garbanzo stir-fry
  • bagel thin + Laughing Cow cheese wedge

20130110

Leave a Reply

