Adding protein to my diet

Weight this morning:  131.0
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  Fitness challenge began!!!  Body Pump (460 cals burned) + Body Step (520 cals burned)

Let me just start by saying that today involved THREE types of butter:  maple almond butter, sunflower seed spread, and crunchy almond butter.  Can we say, obsessed much?!  I ❤ my nut butters!!!

Ok, this weekend I made a purchase at the Vitamin Shoppe to help increase my protein intake.  My husband’s always telling me that I need to be sure I’m getting enough protein, and he’s a big believer in having a post-workout protein shake to help build muscle, so I made a little (albeit fairly expensive) investment:

20130114_protein

It’s a vegetarian (and vegan)-friendly protein powder.  How did I eat it?  In a smoothie of course!  I made a delicious post-workout smoothie comprised of:

  • 1/2 C kale
  • 3/4 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 scoop protein powder
  • 1/2 frozen banana
  • 1 TBSP sunbutter

20130114_smoothie

I downed it on my way to campus for a work lunch meeting.  We dined at Chilis, where I had an (unpictured) black bean burger patty and broccoli.  After my time on campus, I went for an afternoon step class.  I was starving when I got home, and I waxed off the Justin’s maple almond butter this morning, so I had a spoonful of Trader Joe’s crunchy almond butter to hold me over for a bit.

20130114_almondbtr

I also had some cantaloupe before showering and preparing (ahem, warming up) dinner.  On the menu tonight was a portion of my large batch meal of garbanzo stir fry and a Green Giant veggie on the side.

20130114_dinner

A little while later I finished the night with a bagel thin and Laughing Cow cheese spread.  Overall, it was a great day of fitness and healthy eating.

Food i 8 today:

  • spoonful of Justin’s maple almond butter
  • protein smoothie (ingredients listed above)
  • Chili’s black bean burger (patty only) + 1/2 a side of broccoli
  • spoonful of crunchy almond butter
  • cantaloupe
  • garbanzo stir fry
  • Green Giant Healthy Vision mix (entire package)
  • Thomas whole wheat bagel thin + Laughing Cow cheese wedge

20130114

2 responses

Leave a Reply

