overnight oats in a jar

Weight this morning:  131.4
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  spinning class + Body Pump in the morning (745 cals burned), then Body Flow in the afternoon (250 cals burned)

Today I woke up hungry, so I ate a spoonful of almond butter before hitting the gym.  Afterward, I had a special treat in store for myself, haha.  Instead of my normal protein shake, I tried something new (to me).  Ever since entering the healthy living blogworld, I’ve read SEVERAL posts about either:  (1) overnight oats, (2) oats in a jar, dubbed OIAJ, or (3) overnight oats in a jar, dubbed OOIAJ.  Well, I had a near-empty jar of sunbutter that was just begging to be used for this experiment!

20130130_jar

My recipe (pulled from various bloggers):  1/3 C quick oats, 1/2 C almond milk, 1/2 mashed banana, few sprinkles of cinnamon.  Now, this was just my first attempt.  From what I read, it takes several attempts to get the consistency perfectly to your liking.  My result:

20130130_oats

At first, I thought it was kind of runny.  I’m used to the consistency of oatmeal, and this was much more “liquidy”.  After  a few bites, though, I got used to the consistency.  Overall, it was DELICIOUS!  Next time I might just do 1/3 C almond milk.  I will definitely be making OOIAJ again, though!  …or just plain old overnight oats, hehe.

Ok, later in the day I had another spoonful of almond butter, but I finished my Trader Joe’s jar and moved onto another jar of Justin’s Maple almond butter!  I am reunited with my one true love.  ❤  This is all getting very dangerous.  I think I am on the verge of a nut butter obsession.

20130130_justin

Tonight’s dinner included a night out with the gals at a local Greek/Lebanese restaurant that we’ve been meaning to try, and finally found the time to do so.   Although I didn’t take pictures, I had a delicious falafel platter and a piece of baklava for dessert.  The falafel was awesome, but sadly the baklava was a waste of my dessert calories!  Oh well, you live and you learn.  I had to at least try it.

Food i 8 today:

  • 1 TBSP Trader Joe’s almond butter
  • overnight oats in a jar (explained above)
  • red and black bean soup (recipe here)
  • 1 TBSP Justin’s almond butter
  • falafel platter
  • baklava
  • 1/2 Ghiradelli caramel square bar

20130130

3 responses

Leave a Reply

