Ezekiel bread

Weight this morning:  131.2
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  Pilates (240 cals burned), Body Step (570 cals burned), and Body Flow (270 cals burned)

I used to eat nothing before working out in the morning.  I would just wake up, get dressed, head to the gym.  Then someone tipped me off that it’s not so great to workout first thing in the morning on an empty stomach after you’ve been “fasting” for 6-8 hours.  So, I started eating a spoonful of almond butter before working out.

Then I started wondering if that was the best pre-workout snack…I looked around online and realized it’s not the greatest!  (since it’s high in fat, it’s harder for the body to digest before or during the workout).   After much research, I decided that a piece of toast with some sort of spread would be best for me.  I decided to try a bread that I’ve seen in blogland for quite a while now–Ezekiel bread!

20130131_bread

Lots of bloggers SWEAR by this flourless bread and for many, it’s the only bread their family eats, so I figured I’d give it a try.  Now, it comes frozen, so I researched the best method to have it, and many suggest just sticking it right in the toaster, which is what I did.  I also spread some Sabra hummus on top, and it was the perfect pre-workout snack!  🙂  The bread tasted normal to me, nothing outstanding or disgusting, but I know that it has added benefits, which are discussed here.

As for my post-workout fuel, I went with old faithful–a Sun Warrior chocolate protein shake.

20130131_shake

Later in the afternoon I had some more of my homemade red and black bean soup…yum!

20130131_chili

Later in the afternoon, I had a spoonful of Justin’s almond butter.  For dinner, we went to a mongolian grill place.  I got a mix of veggies, tofu, teriyaki sauce, and brown rice.

20130131_grill

Late night snacks were two-fold:  (1) 1/2 banana, 1TBSP Justin’s almond butter, coconut, and (2) slice of cake from Publix…again!  I’ve definitely fallen off the “no-dessert” AND the “minimal-dessert” wagon.  I’ve been in SUCH a dessert mood lately!  At least the rest of each day I’ve been on track.

Food i 8 today:

  • slice of Ezekiel bread + 1TBSP Sabra supremely spicy hummus
  • protein shake –> 1/2 C spinach, 1/2 C almond milk, 1 TBSP sunbutter, 1 scoop Sun Warrior chocolate protein powder, 1/2 banana
  • bowl of homemade soup
  • 1 TBSP Justin’s maple almond butter
  • bowl of grilled veggies, tofu, and brown rice
  • 1/2 banana, 1TBSP Justin’s maple almond butter, 1 TBSP coconut
  • slice of Publix cake

20130131

6 responses

    • I just checked it out! mmmm French toast using Ezekiel bread…sounds delicious! Yeah, I have been burning lots of calories at the gym, but it hasn’t seemed to change the scale much, unfortunately. Guess I need to reign in some of my food choices! 😉

  1. Dear

    Have you tried making your own bread? We made our all the time and it’s great! Use wheat flour instead of white. For “quick breads”, applesauce makes a flavourful substitute for white sugar. You’ll never know the difference.

Leave a Reply

