Black bean brownies

Weight this morning:  129.4
Low weight:  128.6
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  Body attack (560 cals burned)

I know, I know…black beans and brownies just don’t seem to go together, right?  WRONG!  I used a little trick from one of my fave recipe sites (Green Lite Bites) to make some black bean brownies.  How complicated is it?  Well…these are all the ingredients I used:

20130222_ingreds

All you do is puree the black beans in some sort of blender (I used my Magic Bullet), mix the pureed beans with the boxed brownie mix, bake for 30 mins at 350, and voila!

20130222_brownies

The easiest, and yet still quite delicious, brownies ever!  By omitting the oil and eggs, you only save about 20 calories per serving, but you gain all the fiber and protein in those beans!  🙂  Anyway, I thought it was an easy and fun little twist on a typical dessert.  I brought these into school for a co-worker’s bday, and everyone loved them.  WIN!

This morning I had my pre-workout toast + Sabra hummus, but forgot to take a picture!  Afterward, I had a work lunch, where I had an egg-white only veggie omelette.  Good stuff!

Afterward, when I went to campus, I just HAD to have sugar…so I indulged in one of my homemade brownies, one Hershey’s Kiss, and a lemon macaroon cookie.  I don’t know what came over me!

Anyway, when I got home I could not keep my hands out of these cashews leftover from the Thai-inspired cucumber cashew salad.

20130222_cashew

I have to get them out of my apartment STAT!  It’s like a bag of chips, only the amount of calories per handful is pretty high!

It was a rainy night tonight, so I just stayed in and had a warm bowl of oatmeal rather than braving the weather.

20130222_oatmeal

Time for some Dateline with Keith Morrison now, wooohoo!

Food i 8 today:

  • Slice of Ezekiel bread + 1 TBSP Sabra hummus
  • egg-white only veggie omelette
  • black bean brownie
  • 1 Hershey’s Kiss
  • a lemon macaroon cookie
  • too many cashews!
  • bowl of oatmeal (1/3 C oats, 2/3 C water, 1/2 mashed banana, heaping scoop of almond butter, dash of cinnamon)

20130222

3 responses

Leave a Reply

