Trying out Kombucha

Weight this morning:  130.0
Low weight:  128.4
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  Body Pump

Since entering the healthy living blogworld last year, I’ve seen Kombucha mentioned on several different blogs and websites.  What is Kombucha?  Wikipedia says, “Kombucha is an effervescent fermentation of sweetened tea that is used as a functional food.  Sometimes referred to as a ‘mushroom’ or ‘mother’, the kombucha culture is actually a symbiotic colony of bacteria and yeast.”

The other day when I was in EarthFare, I decided to pick up a bottle and give it a try.  The taste is interesting.  It’s fizzy.  It’s a little bitter.  But you get used to it, and it’s pretty good.

20130403_kom

Yes, that is an empty bottle.  No, Kombucha is not a magical, invisible drink.  Ahem…so the taste grew on me and was pretty good.  It’s not something you can chug in 5 minutes, which is why it took me a few days of slowly sipping on it to finish the bottle.

This drink has 40 calories per serving (there are 2 servings per bottle), 7g sugar, billions of probiotic organisms, and loads of antioxidants and organic acids.  In reading about Kombucha, I’ve found several websites list the benefits of the drink, including detoxification, joint care, digestive and gut health, as well as immune boosting, but the medical evidence is a bit lacking.  So, go ahead and Google “kombucha” and decide for yourself whether you believe in its benefits.  I’m simply here to report that I tried it, I liked it, I might have it again in the future.  🙂

Ok, back to my EATS!  Today I started out by munching on some carrots and hummus.  I was starving when I woke up, so I just grabbed the quickest thing from the fridge!  After Body Pump, I whipped up my Sun Warrior protein smoothie (lots of spinach in this one).

20130403_shake

A little while later I had some more of my homemade chili.

20130403_chili

Then I had some more veggies and hummus.

20130403_cuc

So yes, maybe I’m a little hummus-obsessed!  It’s been a fave snack around here lately.  I’ve found it’s one of the best ways for me to get in multiple servings of veggies!

My evening “treat” tonight was Fiber One Chocolate 80-calorie cereal.  I’m hooked!

20130403_cereal

I might have had 2 bowls of this stuff…whoopsie.  So good!

Food i 8 today:

  • 3 oz carrots + 2TBSP Sabra hummus
  • protein shake –> 1 C spinach, 1 C almond milk, 1 TBSP sunbutter, 1 scoop Sun Warrior chocolate protein powder, 1/2 banana
  • homemade chili
  • 1/2 cucumber + 100g celebry + 2TBSP Sabra hummus
  • afternoon shake –> 1 C spinach, 1 C almond milk, 1 C blueberries, 1 TBSP dark cocoa powder
  • 2 bowls of Fiber One cereal + 1 C almond milk
4 responses

    • Oh really?! I’ll have to try strawberry. I had NO idea which flavor or brand to try–the options were a bit overwhelming. After reading up on it some more, though, I think I made a pretty good choice. 🙂

Leave a Reply

