local eats

Weight this morning:  129.2
Low weight:  128.4
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  none.

I’m still resting my foot today!  I was going to do the upper body workout from yesterday again, but I’m actually a little sore, so I’ll do it again on Wednesday and Friday, giving myself rest days in between.  I worked at my computer for a while this morning, and when I got hungry, I still made my Sun Warrior protein shake since I love it so much!

20130409_shake

Later I snacked on some carrots and hummus…

20130409_hummus

…and some vegetable chips.

20130409_veggiechips

We checked out a “new to us” restaurant here in Orlando called Spooky’s Black Cat Cafe.  It’s a small, hole-in-the-wall, local type joint (my fave!).  We started with the server-suggested beer bread and cheese.

20130409_bread

Mmmmm…it was spot on.  Delicioso.  The hubs and I devoured it.

Next up, I went with a small salad filled with spinach, apples, tomatoes, feta, craisins, and maybe a few other goodies.

20130409_salad

I just had to show my husband’s selection, too.  He went with the BBQ pulled pork and waffles with mac and cheese.  He was pretty impressed.

20130409_waffle

Sadly, dessert was the only disappointment.  I took a chocolate and peanut butter cake to go.

20130409_cake

It was quite dry and just tasted like it had been in the glass case for a while.  I only ended up eating about 1/3 of it before stopping myself from wasting calories on something not-so-tasty!  I stole a few bites of my husband’s sweet plantains from Pollo Tropical, though.  😉

Overall, I would definitely recommend this local joint to anyone.  We LOVED everything we ordered (minus the dry cake slice).  I really like supporting local restaurants like this, so we’ll definitely be going back in the future!

Food i 8 today:

  • protein shake –> 1 C spinach, 1 C almond milk, 1 TBSP MaraNatha sunflower seed butter, 1 scoop Sun Warrior chocolate protein powder, 1/2 banana
  • carrots and Publix jalapeno and cilantro hummus
  • vegetable chips
  • one slice of beer bread + cheese
  • small salad
  • a few bites of mac & cheese
  • 1/3 of a chocolate peanut butter cake slice
  • a few bites of sweet plantains
Leave a Reply

