roasted vegetables & zevia soda

Today I started out again with my trusty protein shake!

20130723_shake

I went to Panera Bread to do some work for a few hours.  I know it’s not polite to go to coffee shops, take up a table, use their internet, and not purchase anything, so I ordered a frozen lemonade to go when I was finished.  😉

20130723_frozen

Lunch today consisted of more leftovers–CPK pizza and the “insides” of a zucchini boat that were leftover from dinner Sunday night.

20130723_lunch

For dinner we attempted to make our own little version of roasted vegetables.  My mom has a recipe that we LOVE, and my aunt made another version for us while we were on our recent trip, so the hubs and I (ahem…I) decided we should try it out on our own.  We decided to not follow a recipe, which we never ever do.  But, it was fun.  So, we threw together:

  • 2 medium-sized zucchini
  • 2 sweet potatoes
  • 1 smallish butternut squash
  • 1 small container of mushrooms
  • 1 red onion
  • 2 TBSP light soy sauce
  • 2 TBSP olive oil
  • one heaping spoonful of minced garlic

Then we prayed.  Just kidding.  We put it in the oven at 400 degrees for 15 minutes, tossed the veggies around some, and then put them in for an additional 15 minutes.

20130723_pan

While the veggies were in the oven (I was too hungry to wait), I munched on some carrots and hummus.

20130723_carrots

Also, I sipped on a fun drink I bought at Whole Foods–ZEVIA!  I went with the black cherry variety and was in LOVE with the taste.

20130723_stevia

 

There’s some debate over whether this stevia-flavored soda is indeed a “healthier” alternative to aspartame-ridden Diet Coke, so I’m not saying this is a healthy drink by any means, but some may argue that it is a good alternative.  In other words, I LIKE it!

Back to the roasted veggies.  Well, they turned out EXCELLENT actually.  So so tasty!

20130723_bowl

Food i 8 today:

  • protein smoothie –> 3/4 C almond milk, 1 C spinach, 1 scoop Sun Warrior chocolate protein powder, 1 TBSP crunchy sunbutter, 1/2 banana, ice!
  • the insides of 1 zucchini boat
  • 1 slice leftover pizza
  • carrots + hummus
  • roasted vegetables
One response

Leave a Reply

