upper body pyramid workout

Weight this morning:  129.8
Low weight:  128.4
Goal weight:  125
Height:  5’6″

Workout:  upper body strength (see below)

So I hurt my foot a little while back.  I maybe just pulled something in the arch/ball area of my right foot.  I think it happened during the fitness challenge at my gym when I was attending LOTS of group fitness classes.  I kind of ignored it for a while, but now every time I do an intense cardio class or spend the bulk of a day walking (or moving an in-law), it starts to bother me again.  Anyway, in an attempt to let this minor foot injury heel, I’m giving it a rest this week.  But that doesn’t mean I can’t go crazy with an upper body workout!

All I have to work with here are two 10-pound weights.  I found a  workout from Julie over at Peanut Butter Fingers (this post).  It looked good enough for me, so I went with it.  It’s a pyramid workout that includes:

  • 10 pushups
  • 20 dips
  • 30 bicep curls
  • 40 second plank
  • 50 tummy tuck planks (I subbed for 50 bicycle crunches to minimize the pressure on my foot)
  • 40 second plank
  • 30 bicep curls
  • 20 dips
  • 10 pushups

I went through the pyramid twice and it took me about 20 minutes.  Quick and effective.  But, onto the important stuff…FOOD!

I brought my protein on this trip, so I whipped up a smoothie today.

20130408_shake

We went to an Orlando favorite–BurgerFi–for a late lunch/early dinner.  I went with  a double-quinoa burger with lettuce leaves instead of a bun.  I topped it with ketchup, pickles, onions, and tomato.  SO GOOD!

20130408_burger

The hubs ordered a boatload of onion rings, and I had the smallest one in the pile (which was still rather large).

20130408_rings

I grabbed an Anzac cookie from the Drunken Monkey cafe for dessert.

20130408_cookie

It was a pretty good day of eats!

Food i 8 today:

  • protein shake –> 1 C spinach, 1 C almond milk, 1 TBSP Trader Joe’s creamy almond butter, 1 scoop Sun Warrior chocolate protein powder, 1/2 banana
  • quinoa burger @ BurgerFi
  • a smallish jumbo onion ring
  • Anzac cookie from Drunken Monkey
  • a few bites of Trader Joe’s creamy almond butter

One response

Leave a comment